I•R•L•E

INSTITUTE FOR REGULATORY LAW & ECONOMICS

Academic Advisors & Faculty

The Faculty and academic advisors for the Institute for Regulatory Law & Economics include leading scholars and practitioners in regulatory law and economics. They have been selected for their contributions to the understanding of closely regulated network industries and for their excellence in teaching. Among the academic advisors are four former state commission chairmen and former senior advisors to officials at the Federal Communications Commission, the Federal Trade Commission, the U.S. Department of Justice, the U.S. Supreme Court, and the White House.

The program faculty has included the following:

Ray Gifford is a Senior Adjunct Fellow at the Silicon Flatirons Program and adjunct professor at the University of Colorado School of Law. He is a Partner with Kamlet Shepherd & Reichert, LLP, where he heads the Communications, Internet and Intellectual Property practice area. He was most recently President of the Progress and Freedom Foundation, a Washington, D.C.-based think tank that focuses on studying the digital revolution and its effects on law and public policy. From 1999-2003, Mr. Gifford served as Chairman of the Colorado Public Utilities Commission. Before that, he served as First Assistant Attorney General in the Regulatory Law Section under then-Colorado Attorney General Gale Norton. His expertise lies in public utilities law, principally telecommunications and energy. In addition, his law and policy work focuses on antitrust, competition policy and intellectual property law.

Dale Hatfield is an adjunct professor in the Department of Interdisciplinary Telecommunications at the University of Colorado at Boulder. He has served as the chief of the Office of Engineering and Technology, the chief technologist, and chief of the Office of Plans and Policy at the Federal Communications Commission in addition to senior positions at the U.S. Department of Commerce. Hatfield has been awarded multiple civil service awards for his work in national telecommunications policy. He was the founding director of the Telecommunications Division at the University College at the University of Denver. Hatfield earned a B.S. in Electrical Engineering from the Case Institute of Technology and an M.S. in Industrial Management from Purdue University.

Elizabeth "Betsy" Hoffman was the twentieth president of the four-campus University of Colorado system and serves as a member of the National Science Board. Prior to coming to Colorado University, Hoffman served as provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of Illinois at Chicago. Hoffman holds a B.A. in history from Smith College as well as an M.A. and Ph.D. in history from the University of Pennsylvania. She earned a Ph.D. in economics from the California Institute of Technology.

Lynne Kiesling is a senior lecturer of economics at Northwestern University and a senior policy fellow at the George Mason University Interdisciplinary Center for Economic Science. In 2002, she served on the faculty for a training seminar at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and, starting in 1994, has taught at programs of the Institute for Humane Studies. In addition to academic publishing, Kiesling maintains a daily weblog on economics and information with a focus on energy markets. She was a nominee for the Gerschenkron Prize in economic history and has served as a consultant to the National Science Foundation. Kiesling holds a B.S. from Miami University and a Ph.D. in Economics from Northwestern University.

Howard Shelanski is an acting professor of law at the Boalt School of Law at the University of California Berkeley and is also a director of the Berkeley Center for Law & Technology. He was awarded the Thelen-Marrin Prize for legal scholarship and has clerked for Justice Stephen F. Williams, D.C. Circuit Court of Appeals, Judge Louis Pollak, U.S. District Court of the Eastern District of Pennsylvania and Justice Antonin Scalia, U.S. Supreme Court. He has served as the chief economist to the Federal Communications Commission (1999-2000) and as a senior economist to the President's Council of Economic Advisors (1998-1999). Shelanski earned a B.A from Haverford College and a J.D., an M.A. and a Ph.D. in Economics from UC Berkeley.

Doug Sicker is an assistant professor in the Department of Interdisciplinary Telecommunications at the University of Colorado at Boulder. He has served as the chief of the Network Technology Division at the Federal Communications Commission and is the chair of the Network Reliability and Interoperability Council steering committee, an FCC federal advisory committee that focuses on network reliability, wire line spectral integrity and Internet peering and interconnection. Sicker also serves on the Technical Advisory Council of the FCC. He has published academic articles on telecommunications and medical science. Sicker holds a Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Pittsburgh.

Phil Weiser holds a joint appointment at the University of Colorado in the Interdisciplinary Telecommunications Program and the School of Law and serves as the Executive Director of the Silicon Flatirons Program. He has served as a law clerk to the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals Judge David M. Ebel and to U.S. Supreme Court Justices Byron R. White and Ruth Bader Ginsburg. Weiser served as the senior counsel to the Assistant Attorney General for the Antitrust Division at the U.S. Dept. of Justice. From January 2001 to January 2002, Weiser served as a Special Master to the Colorado Public Utilities Commission. Weiser holds a B.A. from Swarthmore College and a J.D. from the New York University School of Law.

Bart Wilson is an associate professor of economics at George Mason University, and a member of the Interdisciplinary Center for Economic Science (ICES). His broad fields of specialty are industrial organization, experimental economics, and econometrics. Prior to joining the faculty at George Mason, he was a Research Scientist at the Economic Science Laboratory at the University of Arizona. Before that, he spent a yearlong stint in DC as an Economist in the Division of Economic Policy Analysis and the Antitrust Division of the Federal Trade Commission.